Why Nanoethics?

The Issues

About Us

Our News

Our Research

Our Books




advisory board




          We have some of the brightest minds from a broad range of backgrounds, organizations and geographies on our Advisory Board.  Whether or not they agree with our positions, they are indispensable in helping to ensure that our work considers different perspectives and the latest industry developments.

As part of a concerned nanoethics community, they are committed to seeing that nanotechnology is responsibly advanced.  Our current Advisory Board members include:

- Miguel Aznar, Director of Education, Foresight Nanotech Institute; Executive Director, KnowledgeContext

- David Berube, Ph.D., Professor of Communication Studies/Film/English, Professor of NanoScience and Technology Studies, University of South Carolina; Communications Director, International Council on Nanotechnology (ICON), Rice University

- Nick Bostrom, Ph.D., Director, Future of Humanity Institute, Oxford University (UK)

- Rafael Capurro, Ph.D., Professor of Information Science and Information Ethics, Stuttgart Media University (HdM) (Germany); Member of the European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies to the European Commission

- Luca Escoffier, LL.M., Visiting Scholar at University of Washington

- Robert A. Freitas Jr., J.D., Senior Research Fellow, Institute for Molecular Manufacturing

- Robin Hanson, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Economics, George Mason University

- C. Christopher Hook, M.D., Assistant Professor of Medicine and Consultant in Hematology and Medical Ethics, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine

- Timothy Hsieh, J.D., Ph.D., Chairman, Nanotechnology Committee, Section of Science & Technology, American Bar Association; Partner at Min, Hsieh & Hack LLP

- James Hughes, Ph.D., Bioethicist and Sociologist, Trinity College; Executive Director, Institute for Ethics and Emerging Technologies

- Richard A.L. Jones, Ph.D., Professor, Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, University of Sheffield (UK)

- Fabrice Jotterand, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, University of Texas, Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

- Ray Kurzweil, Founder and CEO, Kurzweil Technologies, Inc.

- Judith Light Feather, President, The NanoTechnology Group Inc.; Co-Founder, CANEUS MNT for Space Applications (Canada); Vice President, Athena Virtual Productions, Virtual Games for Education

- Scott Livingston, Managing Director, The Livingston Group, the nanotechnology investment division of Axiom Capital Management, Inc.

- Glenn McGee, Ph.D.,
John A. Balint Endowed Chair of Medical Ethics and Director, Alden March Bioethics Institute; Editor-in-Chief, The American Journal of Bioethics

- John Miller, J.D., Vice President of Intellectual Property, Arrowhead Research; Managing Editor of Nanotechnology Law & Business

- F. Mark Modzelewski, Co-Founder of NanoBusiness Alliance and Vice President of NanoDynamics Inc.

- Daniel Moore, C.Phil., Georgia Institute of Technology

- Chris Phoenix, M.S., Director of Research, Center for Responsible Nanotechnology

- Thomas M. Powers, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Philosophy, University of Delaware; Faculty Research Fellow, Delaware Biotechnology Institute; Assistant Director, Delaware Interdisciplinary Ethics Program

- Fabio Salamanca-Buentello, M.D., Researcher, Canadian Program on Genomics and Global Health, University of Toronto Joint Centre for Bioethics

- Wrye Sententia, Ph.D., Director, Center for Cognitive Liberty & Ethics

- Sebastian Sethe, Ph.D., Sheffield Institute of Biotechnological Law and Ethics, University of Sheffield (UK)

- Aldrin Sweeney, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Science Education, University of Central Florida

- Charles Tahan, Ph.D., National Science Foundation Distinguished Research Fellow, University of Cambridge (UK)

- Tihamer Toth-Fejel, M.S.E.E., Research Engineer, General Dynamics Advanced Information Systems

- Mike Treder, Executive Director, Center for Responsible Nanotechnology

- Jeroen van den Hoven, Ph.D., Professor of Ethics and Technology, Delft University of Technology (Netherlands)

- David L. Wallace, J.D., Partner, Chadbourne & Parke LLP; Member, Board of Editors, Product Liability Law & Strategy

 - Brian Wang, M.B.A., Technology Consultant and Futurist

- John Weckert, Ph.D., Professor, Information Technology, Charles Sturt University (Australia); Professorial Fellow, Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics (CAPPE)

- Vivian Weil, Ph.D., Director, Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions; Professor of Ethics, Illinois Institute of Technology

- Mark Wiesner, Ph.D., P.E., Professor, Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Duke University

- James Wilsdon, Ph.D., Director, International Science Policy Centre, The Royal Society (UK)
Copyright 2003-2008 The Nanoethics Group
All trademarks, logos and images are the property of their respective owners.